CNC.. SOMETHING, PART 2

Hello!

I’m continuing my creation of a very unique CNC machine, If you haven’t seen the first part check it here!

This part presents you some photos of machining and assembling mechanical parts together.

I have started with machining pre-made linear modules, which I have bought on an auction, to fit in a 1605 chinese ball screws. Slot for a ball screw nut on the middle carriage and slot for cheap ball bearings on the end blocks.

Because I have a 3D printer, I have chosen an easy option and printed out some parts 😉 Mostly stepper motors mountings but also two couplers for stepper motors from solid (100% fill) ABS. And also few spacers and covers.

And then a time has come to use the big boy – plasma cutter! But before I could cut some parts, I needed to divide in half a big sheet metal plate I have bought, so it could easily fit on my CNC plasma cutter table. Most of the cut was done using plasma cutter itself, but because the plate was a little bit too wide, I had to cut it off using disc grinder.

After preparing steel sheet I started cutting out main structural parts for my unique CNC machine. Some of the parts needed extra tweaking with a propane torch and a hammer. Also, below you can see video presenting CNC plasma cutting process.

After all that was done I have started assembling all the mechanical parts together, and mounting it on my old belt grinder.. now I think some of you can guess what this machine will do 🙂

Part 3 coming soon.
Stay Sharp!

One thought on “CNC.. SOMETHING, PART 2

Leave a comment